Jmac90's Blog


It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: Season 3, episode 1

Posted in Tv Series Blog by jmac90 on February 24, 2010

Episode 1- The Gang Finds a Dumpster Baby

Wow, what an original show. I am almost mad at myself for not giving this hilarious series a chance in the past. I knew Danny DeVito starred in it, so I figured it would be funny; but it’s definitely more than that! The episode started with the time, day, and location which I predict will be a consistent routine throughout the seasons.  In the beginning Dennis, played by Glenn Howerton, is explaining how he had just seen a movie about Global Warming and is very concerned about the situation. It is interesting to see the correlation between this fictional world and the real one because the season was released in 2007, only a year after Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth was released. This shows how Dennis was affected by the movie, I’m going to assume it was An Inconvenient Truth, and how his character mirrors how people reacted in the real world.

I noticed that in this episode, the roles of some characters were altered which ultimately distorted my initial observations of them. At first I thought that Dennis was a very calm and passive person. This was exemplified by his effortless remark when they find a baby in the dumpster, and also when he gets “walked on” by the hippie. He surprised me when he actually became aggressive and hippie-like by going to the protest. Later I find out that he only did this so that he could have sex with the hippie leader’s girlfriend, by tricking him to chain himself to a tree that is supposed to get bulldozed. A hilarious scene sequence then unfolds with Riders on the Storm by The Doors playing in the background as it rains on the hippie as well as Frank and Charlie who are now playing role playing as bums. I did not really “get to know”  Frank and Charlie because of their roles in this episode but I can definitely assume that they are outrageous and crazy. I was also proven wrong about my assumptions about Mac and Deandra. From the start, I thought that they were the most normal and rational of the crew. Later I find out that they try to tan and paint the baby they found in the garbage to try to pass him off as a mexican so that he can be successful in advertisement.

I am glad to see that there is no laugh track in this series. I also enjoy the music that is used in between scenes because it gives the show a youthful and joyful feeling. And I was extremely happy to hear The Doors in this episode because they are one of my favorite artists.

Favorite parts: When Dennis, as a hippie, takes acid and proceeds to have sex with Ezra the hippie. It was hilarious seeing his weird facial expressions,sounds, and movements. I also laughed hard when Frank is arguing with Charlie that he is not his father and blatantly says, “ your mother was a giant whore” while both of them are lying in a dumpster readying for bed. Finally, Charlie asks his mother about who his father is and she explains to him that it is true that she tried having an abortion but it didn’t work. She explains that the abortion was for him, Charlie, because Frank would have thrown him in the dumpster. I appreciated the use of irony and found it very funny.

They started and ended at a bar which I have concluded that they all work at. The last shot of the scene has them painting the baby and frank holding an Ali Baba sword as child services and police walk through the door. This just adds to the extreme nature of this show and how farfetched it truly is. I loved every minute of it and I can’t wait to finish the season!

I rate this episode a 4 because it was witty, comical, and had more than one story-line in which all became tangled by the end.

-I viewed this episode by myself in my living room Wednesday Feb.24th around 1:00 AM because I procrastinated and thought the due date was March 4th. Luckily, I have about 12 hours to stay up through the late night and early morning to finish watching the episodes and blog them on time. I wish that I would have noticed this earlier…

2 Responses to 'It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: Season 3, episode 1'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: Season 3, episode 1'.

  1. TA Andrea said,

    Well, I definitely appreciate your honesty in letting me know you were kind of working last minute. If you didn’t have that disclaimer I would probably have never known. Your first blog didn’t appear rushed at all. You character analysis were interesting to read and I look forward to reading more. I agree that the soundtrack helps give this show a youthful and fun appeal. That was one of my favorite scenes as well and I am happy to know your enjoying your show. 🙂

    • jmac90 said,

      Honesty is the best policy,ha-ha. Thank you, I tried not to rush at all, and I am pleased to say that I am enjoying the show very much. It’s brilliant and outrageous, like myself.


Leave a Reply

