Jmac90's Blog


It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: S3, Ep. 10

Posted in Uncategorized by jmac90 on March 24, 2010

Episode 10- Mac is A Serial Killer

This episode was not original and lacked luster. It was the classic who-dun it serial killer plot with minimal funny moments. It also lacked an overall message. I think this episode was not efficiently thought-out and was very incoherent.

A killer is on the lose and he seems to be interested in young attractive blondes. Does son of sam ring a bell? Mac begins acting weird and the crew suspects him to be the serial killer. This is overlapped by Mac’s real problem, his girlfriend that has a penis. Frank, like most harsh detectives in this situation, wants to interrogate Mac and torture him. Mac is being secretive and abnormal because of his tainted girlfriend. He is not a serial killer.

One part that made me laugh is when Frank is snooping around Mac’s apartment with gloves and defends his stealth by saying he does not want to get caught by some jew lawyer that might be crawling up his ass.

Deandra and Dennis decide to put themselves in a serial killers shoes so that they can find where he will strike next. This is seen in almost every drama of this sort and they did not execute it in a unique manner. Another serial killer reference was made when Deandra decides to dress up a psycho clown while Dennis despises her costume choice and thinks that a killer would never dress like that. John Wayne Gacy anyone?

Frank and Charlie decide to investigate Mac’s low class drunken mother by bribing her with cigarettes. She unknowingly admits that her son is serial killer just to get Frank out of her face while watching her t.v. game show..

The other scene that made me laugh was Deandra’s encounter with the pimp. The pimp is stereo-types by his clothing, his slang, and his skin color. The pimp tries to make business with Deandra and calls Dennis a cracker after stating that he needs to pay him if he wants Deandra back even though she just met him 30 seconds prior. He then ends the conversations by saying, “ Bitch, you speak when spoken to. Pepper-jack is about to cut somebody”!

One common convention that is shown within the episode is how a person might be attracted to a specific profession by the portrayal of one on a television show. In this case, Charlie is influenced by Law and Order and now takes the role as Mac’s Lawyer. He acts, dresses, and talks like a lawyer.

I rate this episode a 2 because it was unorganized and did not have a larger concept that could be applied to anything else. It was a boring mystery that was obvious and not funny. They eventually find out that the killer is not Mac, and that it is Gary a guy who works at the hardware store. The only reason that I did not give this episode a 1 is because Frank had a very comical line- “Drawing a confession from someone is like doing a beautiful dance, a beautiful dance with a chainsaw.”

I Watched this episode at 11:35 on my couch, alone and warm.

5 Responses to 'It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: S3, Ep. 10'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: S3, Ep. 10'.

  1. TA Andrea said,

    You did a good job. I enjoyed reading your blogs. Your use of visuals was great.

  2. jmac90 said,

    Im a visual kind of guy I guess. I am happy you enjoyed reading as much as I enjoyed writing it.

  3. Professor Dunphy said,

    A bunch of visuals to say the least!

    I disagree with you completely on your assessment of the episode but you’re not grade for that! 🙂

    Onto reading…

    Professor Dunphy

    • jmac90 said,

      You know what “they” say about visuals huh, the more the merrier!

      Sorry that you disagree with me. I simply did not enjoy this particular episode. Although, I do appreciate that the episode/show presents us with a consistent unique style, but this one just did not cut it for me. I felt that the writing was rushed and that story-line was bogus and outdated. I definitely do not hold this catastrophe of an episode against the entire production. I absolutely ended up loving this show because of its outrageous and farfetched humor. Sorry to say, this show will never transcend Larry David’s masterpiece in my book, but it is creeping in.

  4. jmac90 said,

    You know what “they” say about visuals huh, the more the merrier!

    Sorry that you disagree with me. I simply did not enjoy this particular episode. Although, I do appreciate that the episode/show presents us with a consistent unique style, but this one just did not cut it for me. I felt that the writing was rushed and that story-line was bogus and outdated. I definitely do not hold this catastrophe of an episode against the entire production. I absolutely ended up loving this show because of its outrageous and farfetched humor. Sorry to say, this show will never transcend Larry David’s masterpiece in my book, but it is creeping in.


Leave a Reply

